Although there are over 20 bridges crossing the River Liffey, none are as popular as the Ha’Penny Bridge. The Ha’Penny Bridge is a pedestrian only bridge over the River Liffey in Dublin, Ireland, providing a great shortcut from the Temple Bar to the North Quays. Though the official name is the Liffey Bridge, it is commonly referred to as the Ha’Penny Bridge because anyone crossing was charged a toll of a half penny. The toll was dropped in 1919, and visitors are free to cross.
Before the Ha’Penny Bridge was built, the only way to cross the River Liffey was by ferry. These ferries were operated by a William Walsh, and were in bad condition. Walsh was informed that he had to either fix them or build a bridge. Walsh opted to build a bridge. The bridge was built in 1816 of cast iron.
It is estimated that over 20,000 people cross the bridge daily. Though most people are on their way to or from work, tourists will find themselves crossing it at least once during their visit.
The Ha’Penny Bridge was recently restored to include period lanterns. The bridge is lit up at night, providing a pretty scene against the dark water of the river. Considered one of the most photographed structures in Dublin, it is a big draw. For all those who want to include a bit of Dublin history in their pictures, the Ha’Penny Bridge is a must photo-op!